Business & Finance

The mission of the Hallsville Independent School District Business Office is to provide support to all District students, staff, parents, and the Hallsville community and to ensure that all business operations are supportive of the instructional goals and objectives of the District in the attainment of the campus performance objectives (academic excellence indicators).

We encourage you to explore the Business & Finance site for information about our district. An entire page is now dedicated to Financial Transparency. This section provides a variety of reports and information about the finances of the district.

Business Office Contacts                       Budget                              Payroll

 

Business Office Contacts

About Us

The Business Office is responsible for accounting, budgeting, purchasing, payroll, and various other administrative functions of the District.

How to Contact Us

From outside the District, please contact 903-668-5990 and dial the appropriate extension from the list below.  Our fax number is also 903-668-5990.

Mailing Address: P. O. Box 810, Hallsville, TX 75650

Physical Address: 210 S. Green St., Hallsville, TX 75650

 

Position Name Ext. Email Responsibilities
Chief Financial Officer (Interim) Mary Brown 5036 mbrown@hisd.com

General Accounting, State Funding, Budget, Skyward Support, Fed Funds, Risk Management, Investment Officer

Asst. Business Manager Kathy Bradford 5022 kbradford@hisd.com

Purchasing, SBAA, Budget, Worker’s Compensation

Payroll Specialist Laura Field 5026 lfield@hisd.com

Payroll, TRS Liaison

Accounts Payable Cherise Steelman 5024 csteelman@hisd.com

Accounts Payable, Travel, Requisitions, Credit Cards

Business Office Specialist Kathy Smith 5060 ksmith@hisd.com

Deposits, Time Clock/True Time, Records Retention, Vendors, Requisition Approval

District Operator Jan Kramer 5000 jkramer@hisd.com

Aesop/Substitutes

       PEIMS        
Director of PEIMS Services Jill Buchanan 5008 jbuchanan@hisd.com

PEIMS submissions, trainings, Skyward security/employee access

PEIMS Data Analyst Petrice Rummel 5017 prummel@hisd.com

Daily student data/attendance help, trainings

Human Resources        
Employee Benefits Patty Morgan 5005 pmorgan@hisd.com

Benefits, Health Ins., Employee Access, Service Records/Time Off/Leave; Worker's Comp Backup

Personnel Cindy McClenny 5095 cmcclenny@hisd.com

Process new employees;  Fingerprinting, Employee documents;  Name/address changes for employees

Asst. to Superintendent Gwen Walker 5032 gwalker2@hisd.com Student Transfers, Elections, Board Book Preparations

 

Budget

The Hallsville ISD fiscal year begins on September 1 of each year.  The Board of Trustees adopt budgets for the general operating, food service, and debt service funds each August at a public hearing to adopt the budget and tax rate.  

Hallsville ISD's 2017-18 property tax rates are $1.04 for maintenance and operations (M & O) and $0.33 for debt service, for a total tax rate of $1.37 per $100 valuation.

HALLSVILLE ISD ADOPTED A TAX RATE WILL REMAIN THE SAME.

Detailed information on the Budget is found on HISD'sBUDGETweb page, including current and archived budgets.

 

Payroll

The Payroll Office handles payroll checks for all district employees, including Substitutes.  Please contact Laura Field at extension 5026 or lfield@hisd.com for more information.  Also more detailed payroll information can be found on the PAYROLL website page on this website.

Employees may access most payroll information, including pay history, direct deposit stubs, W-2s, and time-off detail, in Skyward Employee Access, by clicking the Skyward icon below.

Employee Benefits - health insurance and supplemental insurance benefits - are handled by Patty Morgan.  Please contact her at extension 5005 or pmorgan@hisd.com.  First Financial Benefits website.

 

Retirement Planning Options:

First Financial Group - 403(b) Accounts

TSA Consulting Group - 457 Accounts

Teacher Retirement System of Texas - TRS Link for TRS Members/Retirees

 

State and Federal Grant Compliance:

Hallsville ISD State and Federal Grants Manual (EDGAR Compliant)

 

Downloadable Files

Type Document Name Size Last Updated
type 2016 HISD Annual Financial Audit 24 MB 02/01/2017
type 2016-17 Utility Usage 17 KB 06/27/2017
type 2016-17 Check Register 47 KB 03/28/2017
type 2015-2016 Utility Usage 19 KB 11/18/2016
type 2015-16 Check Register 808 KB 09/12/2016
type 2015 HISD Annual Financial Report 1 MB 02/01/2016
type 2014-15 Utility Usage 19 KB 09/25/2015
type 2014-15 Check Register 837 KB 09/02/2015
type 2014 HISD Financial Audit 3 MB 02/05/2015
type 2013-14 Utility Usage 19 KB 09/22/2014
type 2013-14 Check Register 936 KB 08/08/2014
type 2013 HISD Financial Audit 1 MB 01/23/2014
type 2012-13 Utility Usage 18 KB 10/28/2013
type 2012-13 Check Register 570 KB 10/11/2013
type 2012 HISD Financial Audit 397 KB 05/16/2013
type 2011-12 Check Register 929 KB 05/16/2013
type 2011 HISD Financial Audit 361 KB 05/16/2013
type 2010-11 Check Register 561 KB 05/16/2013
type 2010 HISD Financial Audit 375 KB 05/16/2013
type 2009-10 Check Register 789 KB 05/16/2013
type Texas Landowners Bill of Rights 29 KB 05/16/2013