• State2017

    State Champions 2014 and 2016

    The University Interscholastic League offers the most comprehensive literary and academic competitive program in the nation.  The Hallsville UIL Academic teams are consistently regional champions with several state winners. HISD UIL Leaders offer more than any other UIL team in terms of activities, with  high school and  elementary and junior high contests. All HISD students are encouraged to participate in UIL academic contests.

    These activities, which exist to complement the academic curriculum, are designed to motivate students as they acquire higher levels of knowledge, to challenge students to confront issues of importance, and to provide students with the opportunity to demonstrate mastery of specific skills.

    UIL Coordinator: Lee Branson lbranson@hisd.com
    UIL Assistant Coordinator: Christina Eagan ceagan@hisd.com
    UIL A+ (2nd - 8th) Coordinator: Douglas Childs dchilds@hisd.com

    Events and Sponsors

    Accounting:  Amy Fix afix@hisd.com
    Calculator Applications: Mike Clay mclay@hisd.com
    Computer Applications: Christina Eagan ceagan@hisd.com
    Computer Science: Christina Eagan ceagan@hisd.com
    Current Events: Sheila Wright sheilawright@hisd.com
    Debate: Rustin Bridges rbridges2@hisd.com
    Film: Christina Eagan ceagan@hisd.com
    Journalism:
            Mark Dimmitt mdimmitt@hisd.com
                   Editorial Writing
                   Headline
                   News
                   Copy Editing
    Literary Criticism: Martha Dalby mdalby@hisd.com
    Math: Mike Clay mclay@hisd.com
    Number Sense: Mike Clay mclay@hisd.com
    Prose and Poetry: Reagan Maldanado rmaldanado@hisd.com
    Ready Writing: Martha Dalby mdalby@hisd.com
    Robotics: Lee Branson lbranson@hisd.com
    Science: Lee Branson lbranson@hisd.com
    Social Studies:  Sheila Wright sheilawright@hisd.com
    Spelling and Vocabulary: Martha Dalby mdalby@hisd.com
    Theatre: Shalem Carr scarr@hisd.com 
    Theatrical Design: Shalem Carr scarr@hisd.com

    UIL GRADUATES